What To Do If You’re Involved In a Texting and Driving Accident in St. Louis, MO

In the past 13 years, distracted driving throughout the Show-Me-State has caused an uptick in car accidents resulting in property damages, personal injuries, and even death.

Missouri is one of two states throughout the United States that still does not ban texting and driving for all drivers. Currently, Missouri’s law is enforced and targeted toward individuals between the ages of 16 and 21. As stated, the cell phone law makes it illegal to read, write or text on any electronic device while driving. Since there is also no hand-held ban, individuals can talk on a cell phone while driving.

In the past 13 years, distracted driving throughout the Show-Me-State has caused an uptick in car accidents resulting in property damages, personal injuries, and even death. Beyond texting and driving, distractions can include driver impairment, speed, and fatigue. Sadly, in 2020, over 90 percent of all fatal car accidents were related to driving too fast, distracted, or impaired.

If you, or someone you know, have been involved in a car accident and suffered an injury from someone else’s distracted driving, you may be eligible for compensation. Here are some general things you should be aware of.

Fines and Penalties

Under Missouri law, it is a primary enforcement offense for an individual under the age of 21 to be texting and driving. An officer can pull them over if they directly violate this law, and they will generally be fined $200 and have two points added to their license.

Additionally, traffic enforcement officials can include additional charges beyond texting and driving, including reckless driving. Reckless driving in Missouri can result in a $1,000 fine, a class b misdemeanor, and up to six months in jail. If another person is injured due to texting and driving, these drivers can still be held accountable.

At-Fault Drivers in Missouri

In Missouri, the person deemed to be at fault must assume financial responsibility for the accident. In the case of texting and driving, the distracted driver’s insurance would generally be required to pay for any damages to the vehicle or medical expenses related to injuries. In some cases, the injured party may also pursue compensation related to lost wages, loss of work, and other associated costs or losses.

If you have been injured in a car accident that involved texting and driving, you may have a strong compensation claim. An experienced car accident attorney can determine whether your case has merit, gather evidence of the other party’s negligence, and file for appropriate compensation.

In Missouri, all car accident-related claims must be filed within five years from the collision date. Starting the process early can allow you to get the necessary support you need as quickly as possible.

--

--

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
Hoffmann Law Firm

Hoffmann Law Firm

St.Louis Car Accident Attorney - Helping Recover after Auto Accidents in Missouri and Illinois. The Hoffmann Law Firm, L.L.C.